Search :


Network News

AllerGen Board Chair appointed Chancellor at Hamilton's McMaster University

AllerGen congratulates Mr. Lynton Wilson, chair of AllerGen's Board of Directors, on his appointment as the 17th Chancellor at the Network's host institution, McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario. As Chancellor, Wilson will serve a three-year term as the ceremonial head of the university, beginning this September.

Special thanks to International Scientific Excellence Advisory Committee (ISEAC)

AllerGen would like to thank the members of AllerGen's inaugural ISEAC for their important contributions to the Network in its initial years.

Dr. Bruce Bochner of Johns Hopkins Asthma and Allergy Center, Dr. William Busse of the University of Wisconsin Medical School, Dr. Monique Capron of the Institut Pasteur de Lille, Dr. Noreen Clark of the University of Michigan Health System, Dr. Juha Kere of the Karolinska Institutet, Dr. Robert Shleimer of the Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, Dr. Scott Weiss of the Harvard Partners Center for Genetics and Genomics at Brigham's and Women's Hospital, and Dr. Peter Weller of Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center provided their guidance and expertise to AllerGen during its first two years of operation.

AllerGen is moving to an ad hoc process for international review and will be looking to tap the expertise of both new and former committee members in its upcoming assessment of new AllerGen programmes of research due May 2, 2007.


AllerGen Board member Dr. Chaviva Hosek has been named an Officer of the Order of Canada in the area of Education and Public Service. The Order of Canada recognizes outstanding achievements by Canadians in various fields. As an Officer, Hosek will be recognized for a lifetime of achievement in service to Canada or humanity at large.

Hosek has been the President and CEO at the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research since 2001. Her list of achievements include university professor, president of the National Action Committee on the Status of Women, elected member of Ontario's Liberal government in 1987, and a director of policy in the office of Prime Minister Jean Chretian.


AllerGen Board member Dr. Aubrey Tingle received the 2007 British Columbia Biotechnology Award in the category of Leadership. LifeSciences BC credits Tingle, the president and CEO of the provincially mandated Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research since 2001, as one of the forces behind bringing BC to the international stage of world-class research. In its announcement, LifeSciences BC describes Tingle's contribution as having "an unprecedented impact" on strengthening publicly funded research, "the foundation of the life sciences and biotechnology industry in British Columbia."


The Allergy, Asthma and Immunology Society of Ontario awarded AllerGen trainee Dr. Loie Goronfolah the 2007 Schering Resident's Award for research on April 21, 2007.

Nine AllerGen investigators and trainees worked on the project, Comparative responses to nasal allergen challenge in allergic rhinitic subjects with or without asthma. Goronfolah is supervised by AllerGen investigator Dr. Paul Keith.